hostarch.blogg.se

Best external monitor for imac 5k
Best external monitor for imac 5k










best external monitor for imac 5k

I had heard of the LG (it does seem to be discontinued, sadly.as noted, still available if you look hard enough in the right places) but was thrown off by the apparent resolution. And I appreciate the correction on the resolution. So, it seems that if I want two displays for my 27" iMac, and I want them to both have the same display resolution (so there's no huge difference in appearance between content on one versus the other, like when dragging a document or open Finder window from one display to the other), then the only way to have that is to buy TWO more monitors (that match each other) and then not use use built-in display?! I find it hard to believe that I am the first person who wants a second screen for their 27" iMac (and want the display to more or less match the internal one). I don't have a dead or otherwise unused 27" iMac sitting around and available for use as a screen so that's not exactly practical. It seems some folks are using a (scrapped?) 27" iMac as a second display on their 27" iMac. The built-in iMac 27" screen appears to be the only 5K, 6016x3384 display. No separately-sold monitors claiming to be "5K" (oodles of 4K screens, some 8K), none boasting native resolutions of 6016x3384. Please correct me if I have jumped to an incorrect conclusion.Īpple markets the iMac display as a "5K" display, with a resolution of 6016x3384.Īs best I can tell, there are no other 27" monitors that exist in the world that have a native display of 6016x3384. And I'm concluding that.Apple has made this all but impossible. I assume there's no additional display adapter or other potential complications needed (just power and theThunderbolt/USB C cable) - correct?īottom line: I'm looking to have both displays (the internal and an external) match, to the extent that's possible.Ĭan anyone suggest good options for a second monitor that would work well with this 27" iMac in a side-by-side configuration? Thanks.

Best external monitor for imac 5k plus#

If I'm reading the specs correctly, to connect a second monitor, all I would need would be 1) to use one of the included Thunderbolt 3 DV ports (it has two), and the second display itself - the included video card (any of them, actually) should support the internal display plus a second at up to 6K with 1 bazillion colors. I can live with bezels, but other than that would like the two displays to appear as "seamless" as possible for use as an extended desktop. My goal would be a second display that matches the resolution, color and (as close as possible) the size of the built-in display.

best external monitor for imac 5k

I'm considering the new (2020) 27" iMac with Retina 5K display and have some questions about hooking up a second display.












Best external monitor for imac 5k